May I have the attention of the room…

25 Jul

ImageWell my next post was going to about trends, however I feel I have a more pressing topic on mind at present, speeches, or more importantly a speech I have been asked to make.

My sister will be marrying her childhood sweetheart on the 31st of January next year at the beautiful Audleys Wood hotel in Basingstoke, Hampshire.  As the maid of honour I have a few duties already, keeping the bride calm and sane, planning the hen party, lending my vast wedding knowledge, and now making a speech.
I’ve done a little research into speeches, there are tonnes of websites scattered across the web for your free perusal, or if you’re not an Internet bee then check out your local library, most will have a section on weddings, or failing that a section on public speaking.
So what have I learnt? As far as weddings go, MOH speeches aren’t common, however there is some advise out there for those writing one.  Firstly, don’t be afraid to show up the best man.  You may not have to be as crude as him, but you can sure as hell be as funny!  I don’t plan on making my sister’s cheeks as pink as the roses in her centre pieces, however I do have a couple of childhood memories up my sleeve, one example being the time she tried to control her growing eyebrows with a piece of Sellotape…
There’s also creativity.  I may not have put my creative writing degree to much use, however I feel this could be a good place to start.  I am considering making a fun poem for the speech, I’m not one for public speaking and I think if I have something strong to read it may go much better.
A lot of people decide to use props during their speeches too or even slideshows of embarrassing photos… The possibilities are endless…
The most important thing to remember is as a maid of honour, it’s not all about you and the bride.  Don’t forget to thank both the bride and groom for choosing you to be a part of their special day, and even for trusting you to stand in front of their friends and family and not embarrass either of them (too much!).
Remember to thank the best men for attempting to write a speech that could top yours, and to the parents for doing such a great job of rearing their children.
Good luck to any maid of honour out there, it’s a big job, and if you’re writing a speech, I wish you all the best and hope this post has one in useful 🙂

Leave a comment